Nail Diary #302

October 13, 2014

Hi all!  I hope you are having a wonderful weekend.  I cannot believe how fast time we flies, here we are 19 more days until Halloween.  My next manicure was a labor or of love.  It took forever and once I was finished I did not love the results.  In fact I wasn’t going to even share them on here, but my motto is to share the fails and fabs.  This spooky nail design was inspired by a fellow IG polish extraordinare @mymaynails 

This manicure was done doing DIY polish decals.  I have done this technique a few times now, but mostly just swirling the colors together.  This time I will actually attempt to make a ghost image.

IMG_5473

I know I made a ton that day.  I was experimenting with colors and trying to get my ghosts just right.

IMG_5474

Look at that swirl, ahhhhhmazing

 

The colors I ended up using for my ghosts and marble are Julep Melissa and Nina Ultra Pro Black.  I seriously love this color combo.  Melissa is a super sheer pearl white, but mixed with the black it is a show stopper.  All you see is the teal in Melissa, wow!  

First I started with a black base color on all my nails.  The layout I did was: on my pinky and thumbs I placed my marble decals and on my ring and middle fingers I used my ghost decals.  On my index finger I used a decal where I mixed the black with Color Club Snowflakes.  I had to do a nail using those two colors because it was such neat combo.  Once the decals were placed and clean up complete I added a matte top coat to up the spook factor.

So some of the reasons I did not love the results.  First off my nail beds are small and my ghosts might have been just a bit too big.  Something I did not noticed until right as I was placing them.  Second the black to clean up around the cuticles was a nightmare.  You will see it looks a bit messy in the pics, and that was after working on them for a long time.

But what I do love about this manicure… the color combos!!  For some reason I think of glam ectoplasm LOL!!

I think I just need to practice making more ghosts and smaller and be more patient while cleaning up.

Thanks for stopping by!! ❤❤

Stay tuned for the next installment of the diary of a nail polish addict.

Ghosts; DIY nail decals; Julep Melissa with black Ghosts; DIY nail decals; Julep Melissa with black

2 thoughts on “Nail Diary #302

Leave a Reply

