Nail Diary #215

Wednesday October 16, 2013
Tonight my nails are going to make you crave candy.
I have done a candy corn mani every year for about three years. Each year I change it just a lil bit. In the past I did layered gradients and free handed the lines using no tape. This always became problematic because the orange under the white tip always came through and turned my white tips pale yellow, annoying.
This year I decided to try my mad skills by doing a sponge gradient. My second gradient this month.
I was so scared I wouldn’t be able to pull this off, but actually I kind of love my candy corn nails this year. I love how the colors blend together and make them look so realistic.
So first I painted all my nails white with Sinful Colors Snow me White. Once that dried all the way, I broke out the makeup sponge. I used a wedge shaped cosmetic foam sponge made from latex. I picked these up for under $3 at Target.
Colors I used for my gradient are all Sinful Colors orange Courtney Orange, yellow Pull Over and the white is the same color I used for my underwear.
I applied polish to the sponge in the order I wanted and sponged it on to the white nails. At first it was blah…but don’t give up just keep going over until you have the desired opacity. You will notice sponge marks but don’t worry your clear top coat with eliminate those. Don’t be afraid to blend using you sponge.
Now I won’t sugar coat it…major clean up was necessary. I used acetone remover with and a paint brush and a Q-Tip.
Be patient eventually you will get it all removed.
After I did my Seche Vite fast dry top coat. I then applied my Salon Perfect matte FX top coat. This helped to give my nails a real candy corn look.
Quick TIP: be sure it is completely dry before you apply top coat after the sponging…or you will get polish smearing like me. I hate when I get impatient.

What do you think…do they make you crave candy corn?? I know I am.

Thanks for stopping by!! ❤❤

Stay tuned for the next installment of the diary of a nail polish addict.

20131016-163300.jpg

20131016-163310.jpg

20131016-163321.jpg

6 thoughts on “Nail Diary #215

Leave a Reply

