Nail diary #97

Thursday September 13, 2012
Hey all! TGIAF
I did this mani a couple days ago it has taken me a couple days to post about it because I was trying to find the original blog that I saw this style on…
I have a ton of emails on blogs that I follow and I cannot find where I saw this or who did it so if it is was yours I’m sorry that I did not link to it.
When I originally saw this style i think it was called an acid wash manicure. I was in awe…it was so cool looking but yet so simple to do!!
I already had on Sinful Colors Slate a gorge grey polish. I decided to use Sally Hansen xtreme polish Celeb City a metallic silver to acid wash it…
I just applied a layer of celeb city over slate and let that dry. Then I used a Q-tip dipped in nail polish remover and gently rubbed off parts of the lighter color to show the darker color underneath… giving it the acid wash look.
IMO the original blog I saw this manicure on was way better…kicking myself for not finding it.
I think where I went wrong was using a metallic…it just didn’t look as worn as I hoped. But I have gotten quite a few compliments on this look, so maybe I am just too critical.

So just remember to achieve this look…dark on the bottom let it dry then I would even do a clear top coat…then a lighter color on the top and Qtip it off to get that worn look. I will def try this one again.
Are you all ready for the weekend?? I know I am 🙂

Stay tuned for the next installment of the diary of a nail polish addict.

20120913-190708.jpg

20120913-190716.jpg

Leave a Reply

